In 1976, shortly after been formed Joe Costigan was chairman. A Native of Ballacolla County Laois, with a strong hurling background, Joe proposed that an adult hurling team be formed. This Junior hurling team played Ballyboden in their first junior match. This team continued to make progress and in 1981 the awaited break-through came when we won the A League. In 1983 we won the Corn Fogarty. For one reason or another, the club lost several players after that season. Most of the squad were forced to emigrate or retire due to injuries. 

It took until 1987/1988 season before another piece of silverware came our way. St.Marks won the C League that year.  A year later, further success was obtained when the B League was won with an unbeaten record for that season. This team completed the season in fine fashion when they were winners of the Miller Shield.  Further success was to follow with this team, when we were victorious in the Corn Fogarty for the second time in 1990.  In our short history, 1991 was to be an incredible year for St.Marks. The clubhouse officially opened but the hurling team won the Intermediate league and gained Senior Status for the first time. Success was to follow for the hurlers in 1993 when the Intermediate Hurling Championship was won beating Round Towers after a hard fought replay. Unfortunately as the old cliché goes, "All good things must come to an end" and this for the hurling folk of St.Marks was to come to fore soon after. Several key players at the time retired and injuries devastated the squad resulting in relegation to Intermediate league again. 
The club began to revive its winning ways in 2005 when the team won the Intermediate Hurling Championship under the guidance of team manager Mick Jordan. Mick's magic was sprinkled over the club again in 2006 when he guided St.Marks to a successive county title when the club won the Senior B Hurling Championship. The Club experienced a leinster campaign winning the opening round away to Colt (Laois) before been defeated by Erins Own (Carlow) who ultimately got to the All-Ireland Final that year.